Rockstar Momma Alert!

#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography

Like a majority of maternity waits this one followed suit: overdue.  It felt like an infinity as I was anticipating the call that my dear friend Brianne was in labor (except for the day I was out of town shooting a wedding- I was praying she would wait!).  The night of August 29th I got a hopeful text that things were starting and would prayerfully continue to progress.  It worked out to be perfect timing as my mind was already geared to stay up all night to organize and do a seasonal purge.  Around midnight I got the green light to head over.  I drove to Jeff & Brianne’s home, a ball of emotions and praying fervently for safe delivery and healthy baby.  I was greeted by her momma and we both exchanged the same giddy, nervous, and excited smiles (with maybe watery eyes too).  A couple contractions in I could tell we wouldn’t be waiting long.  Jeff was doing beautifully tending to his wife.  Brianne was a rockstar and laboring like a champ!

#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotographyMoments of rest#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotographyIn the thick of it

Then it happened.  Labor changed from progressing to time to get this baby earthside!  Daddy got to catch his beautiful baby and bring this babe up to momma.  #Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography

The gender is still unknown and time stood still as they loved on their new bundle.  Now something you need to know about me is I am not very “crunchy”, but when I got the shot of this sweetheart being held by her momma with the placenta floating next to them I kind of did a happy dance.  For whatever reason it struck my ecstatic chord- I still don’t understand why but now you know it’s one of my favorite shots.

#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography

I know the question that’s lingering is it a boy or girl!!! So just in case you were wondering…

#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography

Beautiful Emery Kate Odom was born on August 30th at 3:26am.  Daddy tended to Emery as the midwives took care of Brianne.  Not long after, the other Odom littles were awoken and they came to meet their new sister.   Family snuggles galore!!!

#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography

Now it was then time for our friendly competition of guesses to be put to the test.  Emery was placed on the scale and I lost…by a big shot!

#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotographyBrianne’s midwives did an amazing job and took great care of Brianne and Emery.  I gave my congratulations and snuck out right as the sun was coming up.  A perfect way for an all-nighter to end (yes, I called it quits and totally slept instead of staying up longer).  The seasonal purge was put off to another day.  A week or so later I scheduled to go back and get Emery’s pictures when she was still a newbie but not vernix fresh.

#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography

This sweet princess stole my heart and made my already baby fever kick into overdrive (for those of you wondering- nope not pregnant…yet!).  Her big baby blues melted straight to my heart and I just wanted to snuggle her.  But my professional mind overrode my puddled heart.

#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotographySmiley girl#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography

Don’t say I didn’t warn you!  Those eyes with her sweet disposition melt straight to the soul.  This sweet princess barely wimpered except when she decided she was still hungry.  You know babies, they act like their full until you put them in front of a camera, then all of a sudden they think they’re going to starve in a matter of minutes!  I’m onto their game though, so we paused and let her get a little milk drunk.  No more fuss to be had after that.  We focused on some close-ups of some baby details.  Feet, noses, lips and belly buttons of course!

#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotographyToes#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography

A little belly time and this little one let out a secret; though she be small she is fiercely strong!  Oh the places Emery will go.  She will speak to mountains and they will move, with a gentle voice she will calm the seas, and she will be a pillar of beauty.  Her future is bright and all who have the pleasure of being her friend will be blessed.

#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography

Let it be known, I am totally ok with Isaac marrying one of my daughters.  This little boy is the sweetest big brother.  Jane looks likes one of my girls and has the same spunky personality so she had me at hello and her springy curls.  Seriously I love this family!

#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography

The littles were wiped.  We had reached our quota of, “just one more- you’re doing great!”  So we finished up with special moments with mommy and daddy.

#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography

Daddy’s magic touch sent this sweet pea into dream world.  Of course we took advantage of this sweet moment (because sometimes that’s all it lasts is a minute moment in time).  #Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography

Before I left I wanted to document the welcome board in the entry way.  Proudly displayed for all who graced their home.  Thank you Jeff & Brianne for again allowing me to be a part of your journey.  I know our friendship will travel through time and continue to deepen and I thank God for that.  Blessings on sweet Emery Kate.  Love you my friends!

#Capturingessencephotography, #birthphotography, #newbornphotography

Leave a comment